Community Foundation of St. Joseph County

Be a fan on Facebook

Community Foundation Names Lilly Endowment Community Scholars

Four students win four-year, full-tuition scholarships

Clockwise from top left: Benjamin Burns; Indy Brown; Patrick Gouker; and Kendra Laidig

The Community Foundation of St. Joseph County celebrates four local students who have been awarded 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships. These highly competitive awards provide recipients with four-year, full-tuition scholarships and a book stipend for the Indiana college or university of their choice.

The scholarship has been offered to Indy Brown, John Adams High School; Benjamin Burns, Culver Academies; Patrick Gouker, Mishawaka High School; and Kendra Laidig, Penn High School. With the earlier deadline again this year, students will be making their college decisions in the next few months and have until March 1 to formally accept the scholarship.

Awards are based on academic excellence, leadership, community service, employment history, written essays, personal recommendations, financial need, under-representation, and whether the student is the first generation of her/his family to attend college. The Community Foundation received 155 applications from 17 schools.  Fourteen of the applicants were ranked first in their graduating classes. Finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana for final selection.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, not-for-profit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Join us in congratulating these exceptional scholars!