Community Foundation Announces IAC Regional Arts Grants

Distributes Over $234,00 to 37 Area Nonprofit Organizations

Thirty-seven area organizations have received grants from the Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) to support their arts programming from July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2022. These grants, which total over $234,000, were awarded through the IAC’s partnership with the Community Foundation of St. Joseph County. Since 1998, the Community Foundation has been a Regional Arts Partner for the IAC, overseeing the grants application and award process for St. Joseph, Elkhart, Fulton, Marshall, Kosciusko, and Starke counties in northern Indiana.

IAC grants are made in two separate categories: Arts Organization Support (AOS) grants and Arts Project Support (APS) grants. AOS grants provide annual operating support for the ongoing artistic and administrative functions of eligible arts organizations. This year, additional one-time $1,000 Merit Awards (denoted with asterisks in the list below) were given to ten grantees receiving AOS grants to recognize their innovation and dedication to providing public benefit in the last year. APS grants provide funding to Indiana 501(c)3 nonprofit organizations for a specific arts project or arts activities. Funding decisions are made with the help of volunteer panelists, who evaluate grant applications based on organizational excellence, community engagement, project management, and artistic quality.

These grants are made possible in part by the Community Foundation of St. Joseph County and the Indiana Arts Commission, which receives support from the state of Indiana and National Endowment for the Arts.

Recipients are, by category of funding:


Acting Ensemble (St. Joseph County): $4,144
Elkhart Civic Theatre, Inc. (Elkhart County): $7,421
Elkhart County Symphony Association (Elkhart County): $6,725
*Fischoff National Chamber Music Association (St. Joseph County): $9,277 plus $1,000 Merit Award
*Heartland Artists (Marshall County): $5,565 plus $1,000 Merit Award
Lakeland Art Association, Inc. (Kosciusko County): $2,088
Main Stage, Inc. (St. Joseph County): $6,725
Maple City Chamber Orchestra Society, Inc. (Elkhart County): $4,086
*The Music Village (St. Joseph County): $7,421 plus $1,000 Merit Award
Musical Arts Indiana (St. Joseph County): $5,565
*Patchwork Dance Company (St. Joseph County): $5,565 plus $1,000 Merit Award
The Ruthmere Foundation, Inc. (Elkhart County): $12,059
*South Bend Civic Theatre (St. Joseph County): $17,625 plus $1,000 Merit Award
South Bend Museum of Art (St. Joseph County): $14,842
*South Bend Symphony Orchestra Association (St. Joseph County): $17,625 plus $1,000 Merit Award
*South Bend Youth Symphony Orchestras, Inc. (St. Joseph County): $6,725 plus $1,000 Merit Award
*Southold Dance Theater (St. Joseph County): $12,059 plus $1,000 Merit Award
*Wagon Wheel Center for the Arts (Kosciusko County): $17,625 plus $1,000 Merit Award
*Wild Rose Moon (Marshall County): $5,565 plus $1,000 Merit Award


City of Elkhart Parks and Recreation Dept. (Elkhart County): $2,835
City of Warsaw Parks and Recreation Dept. (Kosciusko County): $4,050
Downtown South Bend Inc. (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Ensemble Concept/21 Inc. (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Full Tilt Arts (Fulton County): $4,050
Fulton County Historical Society (Fulton County): $4,050
Goshen Arts & Events (Elkhart County): $4,050
Goshen Community Chorale, Inc. (Elkhart County): $4,050
Jewish Federation of St. Joseph Valley (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Merrimans’ Playhouse, Inc. (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Michiana Public Broadcasting Corporation/WNIT-TV (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Robinson Community Learning Center, University of Notre Dame (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Saint Mary’s College (St. Joseph County): $2,633
South Bend Chamber Singers (St. Joseph County): $3,240
South Bend Heritage (St. Joseph County): $4,050
Starke County Youth Club (Starke County): $4,050
Syracuse Turkey Creek Township (Kosciusko County): $632
United Religious Community (St. Joseph County): $4,050

A nonprofit philanthropic endowment, the Community Foundation serves the people of St. Joseph County through initiatives and grant-making in the areas of arts and culture, health and human services, parks and community development, and youth and education.

Published: July 19, 2021
P.O. Box 837, South Bend, IN 46624 | 305 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 | Phone: (574) 232-0041 | Fax: (574) 233-1906

© 2024 Community Foundation of St. Joseph County. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy