Community Foundation Announces Lilly Scholarship Offers

Students from Penn, Adams, St. Joseph Receive Recognition

The Community Foundation of St. Joseph County celebrates four students awarded the 2021 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. This highly competitive award provides recipients with four-year, full-tuition scholarships and a book stipend for the Indiana college or university of their choice.

The scholarship has been offered to Jayden Bell, Penn High School; Alexandria Crayton, Adams High School; Ethan Horvath, Saint Joseph High School, and Grace Waddell, Penn High School. Students will be making their college decisions in the next few months.

Awards are based on academic excellence, leadership, community service, employment history, written essays, personal recommendations, financial need, underrepresentation, and whether the student is the first generation of her/his family to attend college. The Community Foundation received 98 applications from 12 schools. Finalists’ names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana for final selection.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, not-for-profit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

Published: December 15, 2020
P.O. Box 837, South Bend, IN 46624 | 305 S. Michigan St., South Bend, IN 46601 | Phone: (574) 232-0041 | Fax: (574) 233-1906

© 2024 Community Foundation of St. Joseph County. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy